What are the Egyptian pyramids called?

The pyramids of Egypt are one of the most admired and studied monuments on the planet. Built with huge blocks of stone 4, 000 years ago, these works are a source of uncertainty for many of the archaeologists who wonder how they were built back then. The three pyramids of Giza: Keops, Kefren and Micerino, are the best known and are located near Cairo.

If you want to know what the pyramids of Egypt are called and how many there are, continue reading that article in which we explain it to you.

The first pyramids

How many pyramids are there in Egypt? They have come to discover 120 pyramids located along the Nile River, where the Egyptians developed their civilization.

In 2700 BC, the Egyptians built tombs known as mastabas from mud made from the mud they extracted from the Nile. It was in these buildings where Egyptian eminences were buried, but were not yet considered pyramids.

The first well-known pyramid built at this time was the step pyramid of Saqqara on the death of Pharaoh Dyeser. It was built by the architect Imhotep and is considered the oldest pyramid. Below you can see an image of this monument.

Another of the Egyptian pyramids is that it was built by the will of King Seneferu, and was baptized with the name of pyramid diamond, located in Dahshur. This construction is considered the midpoint between the stepped pyramid and the classical pyramid.

Discover which are the main Egyptian gods.

What are the Egyptian pyramids called?

The classic pyramids are the most famous and visited today in Cairo, a city with more than 24 million inhabitants. The cradle of civilizations is famous especially for the pyramids of Giza:

Pyramid of Cheops

The pyramid of Cheops is the largest pyramid of Giza, although the pyramid of Kefrén seems the largest dimension to have been built on a higher ground. Being the largest, this work is known as the Great Pyramid of Cheops, and was built as a tomb for the pharaoh Jufu of the IV dynasty. However, this pharaoh is also known by his Greek name Keops. The pyramid of Cheops is the only one of the seven wonders of the ancient world that remains standing.

Pyramid of Khafre

Another of the pyramids of Giza in the XXVI century BC The Príncipe de Kefrén is more than 140 meters high and is part of a funerary complex that has a funerary temple along with a paved road related to the Temple of the Valley.

Pyramid of Micerino

It is the smallest of the Pyramids of Giza. It was built for the pharaoh Micerinos, considered as the possible son of Kefrén. It has a height of 65.6 meters and is considered one of the most beautiful pyramids of Egypt to be covered with pink granite. In addition, this material now worn by time, made this monument shine giving it a unique beauty.

The priamide of Micerino was known as the Divine Pyramid, and was part of the funerary complex that formed with the three pyramids of the queens, the temple of the valley, a funeral temple and the road that linked both temples.

How the pyramids of Egypt were built

There are many doubts that today exist around the construction of the pyramids of Egypt, mainly due to the fact that they had to move blocks of stone of more than two tons, a weight impossible to support without the help of cranes like those currently use. So, how were the Egyptian pyramids built? At that time, the Egyptians had to figure out how to move the immense blocks of stone through the arid desert.

More than 20 thousand slaves were in charge of carrying out this arduous task for 23 years. Recently it was discovered that the element that could facilitate the mobilization of the materials of the pyramids was water. Dutch physicists discovered that the Egyptians moistened the sand to facilitate the sledges to slide on the surface. In this way they reduced the weight of the load by half.